Line up:

Massimiliano Pagliuso: vocals, guitars, bass, keyboards

Gianpaolo Caprino: guitars

Alessandro “Sancho” Marconcini: drums


Style: Progressive Death Metal

City:  Rome


Oceana was born in 1994 from the friendship between Massimiliano Pagliuso and Alessandro “Sancho” Marconcini (to whom Gianpaolo Caprino was added in 1997). The intent was to mix progressive metal elements with European-style death doom. The references, from a musical point of view, range from Edge Of Sanity to Katatonia, from Paradise Lost to Duran Duran, from Metallica to Dream Theater, in a very personal fusion of different genres and sounds. After a first EP, dating back to 1996, the band returned to the studio in 2019 to record their first full length album “The Pattern” (mixed and mastered by Dan Swanö at Unisound Studios) and entrusted the realization of the album cover to Travis Smith. The band’s return to the scene also sees a change of logo by the great Daniele Valeriani, an artist who has been able to perfectly represent the new image of the Roman trio.


1996: Promo 95/96
1996: Oceana – EP
2021: The Pattern


 Facebook icon Instagram icon youtube icon youtube icon